Unlike many other states, Ohio has open carry laws, which means that qualified carriers in the state are allowed to purchase and carry firearms without first obtaining a license. The state, however, has many other complex laws on the books involving gun use and ownership. It is important for people in who own firearms or who are charged with carrying a firearm to understand some of these important laws as well as consulting Kruger & Hodges defense attorneys for gun charges.
Concealed Carry Laws in Ohio
Adults in Ohio are not required to openly carry firearms. The must, however, obtain licenses to carry firearms that are concealed on their body or in their vehicle. A criminal background check is conducted as part of the state’s licensure process for concealed carry permits.
Convicted Felons in Ohio and Firearms
Law in the state of Ohio prohibits individuals who have been convicted of either drug offenses or violent felony crimes from possessing a firearm. While some states allow convicted felons to petition for gun rights, Ohio does not permit these petitions. As a result, if you have been convicted of a drug offense or felony, you will forever lose your right to possess a firearm in the state of Ohio.
Where Guns are Never Allowed
Ohio allows firearms to be carried in a number of locations. One place Ohioans may not carry a firearm, however, is anywhere alcohol is sold. Ohio also prohibits individuals from possessing firearms in school safety zones.
Punishment for Various Firearm Offenses in Ohio
The exact penalties that you can expect to face depend on what Ohio firearm offense you commit. The following are just some examples of the various penalties associated with firearm offenses in the state:
A person who is found to be carrying a concealed weapon without a permit can likely expect to face a first misdemeanor that results in 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.
A person who is found to possess a firearm in a school safety zone likely faces a fifth degree felony that is punishable by a maximum of 12 months in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.
A person who is a convicted or indicted felon and who is found to possess a firearm can face a maximum of five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
A person who is found to possess a firearm in a bar can face a fifth degree felony if the weapon was openly carried and a third degree felony if it was carried in a concealed manner.
Speak with Our Experienced Gun Charge Defense Attorneys
If you or a loved one faces criminal charges related to possession of a firearm, you should not hesitate to obtain the assistance of our seasoned gun charge defense attorneys who will remain committed to making sure that your case resolves in the best possible manner. Contact Kruger & Hodges today to schedule an initial free consultation during which time we will inform you about what you can expect from your charges and the possible defenses available to you.