Domestic violence charges in Ohio are serious and can result in significant penalties including fines, imprisonment, and a criminal record that can make it difficult to pursue educational and career goals. If you are charged with domestic violence, you should not hesitate to contact our experienced domestic violence defense lawyers who can help create the best defense strategy possible.
Domestic Violence Charges
In the state of Ohio, domestic violence is prosecuted under section 2919.25 of the Ohio Revised Code. The offense includes the commission of any act by a family or household member that would result in child abuse, knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical harm, recklessly causing physical harm, or any sexually-oriented offense. For the purposes of this law, a family or household member includes anyone who lives or has lived with the victim, which includes children, co-parents, former spouses, foster parents, parents, people living as a spouse, or current spouses.
Associated Offenses in Ohio
Some of the offenses associated with domestic violence in Ohio include the following:
Violation of protection orders which occurs when a person violates the terms of a protection order
Sexual battery, which occurs if a person engages in sexual conduct with another individual against his or her will
Endangering children, which occurs when a parent or guardian has control over a handicapped child under the age of 21 or any other child under the age of 18 and abuses, tortures, unwarrantedly disciplines, or performs one of several other dangerous and prohibited types of activity with a child
Ohio Domestic Violence Penalties
Being convicted of domestic violence in Ohio can result in some particularly serious penalties, which include the following:
A person who is convicted of a misdemeanor of first degree domestic violence faces a jail sentence of 180 days as well as a $1,000 fine
A person who is convicted of fifth degree domestic violence faces a jail sentence of up to one year as well as a $2,500 fine
A conviction of a felony of fourth degree domestic violence results in up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $5,000
A conviction of a felony of third degree domestic violence results in a prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $10,000
A conviction of a felony of second degree domestic violence results in a prison sentence of eight years and fines of up to $15,000
Speak with Our Experienced Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers Today
If you have been charged with domestic violence near Hamilton, Eaton or Middletown, you should not hesitate to contact our experienced domestic violence defense lawyers who can make sure that your case resolves quickly and in the best possible manner. At Kruger & Hodges, we are experienced criminal defense attorneys who will remain committed to fighting for the results that you deserve. Contact our Hamilton law offices today to schedule an initial free consultation.