Theft in the state of Ohio is classified as a crime of “moral turpitude,” which involves dishonest conduct that lacks good morals. These crimes can result in significant obstacles that affect career and education barriers that can sometimes last the rest of a person’s life. If you are charged with a crime in Ohio, it is critical to quickly obtain the assistance of our theft defense lawyers who will create a legal defense to increase the chances that your case resolves in the best possible manner.
Common Types of Theft Offenses in Ohio
Some of the most common types of theft offenses with which people in the state of Ohio are frequently charged include:
- Aggravated theft: These offenses arise when a person knowingly exerts control or obtains either property or services that are worth more than $100,000. This theft must be performed without the property owner’s consent through the use of deception, intimidation, or threat. These offenses are classified as first, second, or third-degree felonies based on the value of the property that is taken.
- Grand theft: Ohio Revised Code section 2913.02 states that grand theft occurs when a person knowingly exerts control or obtains property that is greater than $5,000 but less than $100,000 without the property owner’s consent through deception, intimidation, or threat. Most often, grand theft is charged as a fourth-degree felony. Any offense involving a motor vehicle or firearm is also classified as grand theft.
- Petty theft: This offense occurs when a person exerts control or knowingly obtains property or services that are less than $500 without the property owner’s consent through the use of deception, intimidation, or threat. These offenses are most often classified as first-degree misdemeanors.
- Receiving stolen property: In accordance with Ohio Revised Code section 2913.51, an individual can be charged with this offense if he or she disposes of, receives, or retains property of another that he or she knows or has reason to know was obtained through the use of theft. This crime is classified as either a misdemeanor or felony based on what was stolen and the value of the stolen property.
- Theft: A person in the state of Ohio can be charged with theft if he or she exerts control over property or services that are valued between $500 and $5,000 without the property owner’s consent through the use of deception, intimidation, or threat.
- Unauthorized use of a vehicle: If an individual knowingly uses an aircraft, motor vehicle, watercraft, or other types of a motor-propelled vehicle without the property owner’s consent, a person can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony.
Speak with our Experienced Theft Defense Attorneys
Being convicted of theft and can result in numerous obstacles including the stigma of being branded as dishonest by others. Fortunately, the criminal defense lawyers at Kruger & Hodges will remain committed to obtaining the best possible outcome in your case and understands the numerous complications that can arise when fighting theft crime charges. Do not hesitate to contact a seasoned defense attorney today if you are charged with a theft-related crime.